Busy City Weekend


We had a city weekend this weekend as I wanted to go to the show to check out the animals – Grand Final day seemed like a good day to do it considering the masses in theory should be at a bbq somewhere watching the footy.

It was a great day – I took along my neice and nephew who were pretty patient with us wanting to watch the Alpaca judging (which really was quite boring!) and the woodchopping.  We did take them to the rides for a couple of hours.

Today we were up bright and early to head to a big plant nursery in Braeside – called Gardenworld which turned out to be one of the most impressive nursery centres I’ve ever been to – it’s a group of plant and garden shops that are all specialsists – there’s cafe, exhibitions and lots to look at – we could have spent a good couple of hours there but were time limited.  Collectors Corner was really amazing – with fantastic displays of Cacti and Succulents, a big display of bonsai and carnivorous plants.  It is really well worth the drive.  We managed to pick up a few of the specific tea tree plants to make manuka honey – which J wants to have a shot at…. not entirely sure what’s involved with that though… we’ll have to read up on it as his ‘Queen’ arrives in October. I have to bone up on Bee Keeping For Dummies as I’ll be ‘bee-sitting’ if J has to go overseas for work in November.

Other than that – I’ve been going a bit crazy on the seed buying on ebay of late, will have to reel myself in… I’m still trying to find French Tarrgon seedlings if anyone can help me out!

Melbourne Show - J might be getting some Alpacas soon... I won't complain!

So cute...

Melbourne Show – Woodchopping

Collectors Corner - it's like walking into Day of the Triffids

Carnivore plants!

Bonsai

Giant Cabbages!

They even have a waterfall inside

Quite a beautiful bonsai - slivery leaves make it look like snow in the boughs

Bonsai display - very impressive

3 responses to “Busy City Weekend

  1. Wow- those daffodils look amazing! I was looking for French tarragon a month ago and was told it was definitely a late spring seedling. I was coerced into buying perennial Russian tarragon, but now read that it is a much inferior substitute.

  2. Hi VTG – I found out that the Russian Tarragon apparently tastes horrible and it’s the French Tarragon you want for cooking – and you can only get it by seedling…? Gardenworld said they normally do stock it but had a busy weekend so it might have sold out. I’ll keep my eyes peeled as I love the flavour of tarragon with chicken.
    The Daffodils and bulbs were very impressive. I’ve ordered a catalogue from the supplier and will post the details when it arrives just in case someone is interested.

  3. Hi Em, I haven’t been to Gardenworld in years, but used to love visiting when I lived in Melbourne 🙂
    How are you going with tracking down your tarragon? Have you had a peek at the little town nursery in Mirboo North? It is a bit ramshackle, but I always stop there if I’m passing through for work, as they have a great range of herbs.

Leave a comment